Drivers License Suspension Lawyer Trenton
Driving is a necessary function of our day to day lives. Work, kids, shopping – all of it is dependent upon driving from one place to the next. Public transportation is slow and inconsistent, while cabs are outrageously expensive and impractical. So you need to drive! The problem is that driving is a privilege, not a right. In the case your license has been lost or restrained for any reason, you may no longer enjoy that privilege.
Unfortunately, people often choose to ignore this restraint and drive anyway. This is a risky proposition, because if you are stopped by a police officer for any reason while Driving on a Suspended License you can be sure you will be ticketed. Driving on a Suspended License in New Jersey is a serious offense and the penalties may be significant. You are going to need an lawyer to help you to minimize the fines, additional suspension, and even possible jail time that may follow.
Why Your License Was Suspended
Legal matters which may result in suspension include:
- 12+ points on your driving record
- Ignoring Traffic and Parking Tickets
- Leaving the Scene of an Accident (aka hit-and-run)
- racing or drag racing
- Conviction for a felony where you used a vehicle
- Homicide by vehicle
- Failure to pay Child Support
Penalties for Driving while License Is Suspended
*Any driving with a suspended license offense carries a $250 per year New Jersey Motor Vehicles Commission surcharge for each of the next three years and an extended suspension of up to six months.
First offense: A $500 fine*.
Second offense: A $750 fine* and mandatory jail time up to five days.
Third offense: A $1,000 fine* and mandatory jail time up to ten days.
No insurance related offense: If suspended initially for having no insurance, the above penalties will include an additional $500 fine, an additional one to two years license suspension and up to 90 days in jail.
DWI related offense: If suspended initially for a DWI, the above penalties will include an additional $500 fine, an additional one to two years license suspension, and mandatory jail time of AT LEAST ten days (up to 90).
This is by no means an exhaustive list with regards to either special circumstances or potential penalties. You should contact a lawyer if you have any concerns about potential penalties for driving with a suspended license.
Fighting Criminal Charges and Administrative Suspension
When you are stopped, arrested, and charged with driving a vehicle with a suspended license, you must be concerned with two separate legal matters. Both the criminal conviction related to your initial license suspension and the civil penalty imposed by NJDOT must be dealt with.
One of our experienced and knowledgeable lawyers can advice you on the next steps to take.
The Law Offices of Greg Prosmushkin, P.C. are conveniently located in Trenton to assist Mercer County and the surrounding areas with all their legal needs. Schedule a free consultation with one of our traffic attorneys by calling 609-257-4976 today.
This content was written on behalf of Greg Prosmushkin.